What a great festival! Seriously Marc/Jeremy/Jason upped the game, as well as ALL of the Nebraska Shorts this year.

So many great stories and connections. NIFP is proud to have played a small part, with clips from Jon Bokenkamp’s 2006 NIFP guest talk at the Mary Riepma Ross theater featured in the Lew Hunter documentary.

11 years in the making, feature tribute to screenwriting ONCE IN A LEW MOON made it’s Nebraska premiere. Lonnie never gave up and neither should you!

It was announced that Blacklist creator and Kearney native Jon Bokenkamp (and friends) are likely taking leadership of the Superior Screenwriting Colony, with Lew Hunter moving to a “godfather” role. That is insanely great news for screenwriters from everywhere around the world!


Thanks to everyone who submitted, attended, promoted, volunteered, and watched some of the best shorts and features in the world!

Results from the 2016 OFF.

Screenplay Awards:

Best Nebraska Screenplay – “Sanctuary” by Scott Pittock
Best Short Screenplay – “In Quest of the Bluebird” by Robert Mann & Connie Zerden
Best Feature Screenplay – “Sanctuary” by Scott Pittock


Jury Prizes:

Best Animated Short Film: – “Fulfilament” by Rhiannon Evans
Animated Short Film Honorable Mention: – “We Can’t Live Without Cosmos” by Konstantin Bronzit
Best Nebraska Short Film – “Second Words” by Jake Hull
Best Nebraska Short Film Honorable Mention – “The Adventures of Vanman and Truckboy” by Sam Senser
Best Short Film – “Iris” by Richard Karpala
Short Film Honorable Mention – “Move Me” by Gabe Crate
Best Documentary – “Llama Nation” by Tanner Shinnick
Documentary Honorable Mention – “Man vs Snake: The Long & Twisted Tale of Nibbler” by Andrew Seklir & Tim Kinzy
Best Feature Film – “Trivia Night” by Robert Gregson
Feature Film Honorable Mention – “West of Redemption” by Cornelia Moore
Death Grip Electric Award for Killer Cinematography presented to a Nebraska Short – Joel Froome for “Second Words”

Audience Choice Awards:

Audience Choice Short Film – “The Bespoke Tailoring of Mister Bellamy” by Alexander Jeffrey Audience Choice
Documentary – “The Million Dollar Duck” by Brian Golden Davis Audience Choice Feature Film – “Coming Through the Rye” by James Sadwith